Photo & Stage One

It’s a good thing to get out of one’s comfort zone. We learn if we’re open to the experience. We can gain new perspectives. That’s been the case with this project. To be honest, I don’t like this. I’m definitely out of my comfort zone. I think it’s too simple-looking. It’s monochromatic (boring). The subject matter seems too simple, maybe a little trite.You know, a landscape…at sunset.

So I set out to find a decent looking field at sunset. There’s a great little duck pond that I went to at sunset. I took a few photos. I was unimpressed. I tried a larger pond in another location and felt the sunset looked a little more dramatic. This is what I came up with…

Okay, I had to do some serious messin’ around in Photoshop to get the color right. I think it’s a good starting point. There are some plants growing up right in front of the reflection on the lake which I’m going to move a little over to the left. It’s not a wheat field, not even a corn field, which would be apropos for Indiana. Maybe I’ll try this one again later in the summer if the cornfields survive the drought.

There’s definitely a feeling of a hot summer evening. I think this will do. I’m off to start this painting and will be posting my beginnings. If you have any questions or comments, please send them along. I’m glad to see what you are doing.

Leave a Reply

